The Construction Sector Accord and Transformation Plan is supported by a range of people, agencies, organisations and businesses from across government and industry.

Accord Ministers

The Accord programme is supported by these government Ministers:

  • Minister for Building and Construction - Hon. Poto Williams (Co-lead)
  • Minister of Housing - Hon. Dr Megan Woods (Co-lead)
  • Minister for Economic and Regional Development - Hon. Stuart Nash
  • Minister of Education - Hon. Chris Hipkins
  • Minister for Minister of Finance, and Minister for Infrastructure - Hon. Grant Roberston
  • Minister of Health - Hon. Andrew Little
  • Minister for Local Government - Hon. Nanaia Mahuta
  • Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety, and Minister of Transport - Hon. Michael Wood

Accord Steering Group

The Accord Steering Group (ASG) oversees the Accord and is responsible for the delivery of the Transformation Plan and for leading culture change in the sector. The group is made up of leaders from across industry and government. The government perspective on this group is supported by a sub-group of Accord Agency Chief Executives.


Peter Reidy(external link) (Co-chair)
Chief Executive
Fletcher Construction

Chris Bunny(external link) (Co-chair)
Deputy Secretary, Managed Isolation and Quarantine.
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment - Hīkina Whakatutuki

Graham Burke(external link)
Construction Industry Council and Vice President of Specialist Trade Contractors Federation

Judi Keith-Brown(external link)
New Zealand Institute of Architects – Te Kāhui Whaihanga

Ross Copland(external link)
Chief Executive
Infrastructure Commission – Te Waihanga

Dean Kimpton(external link)
Transformation Director
Construction Sector Accord

Andrew Crisp(external link)
Chief Executive
Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

Roger McRae(external link)
Construction Health and Safety New Zealand

Steve Evans(external link)
Chief Executive
Fletcher Building - Residential and Development

Bill Newson
National Secretary
E tū

Leonie Freeman(external link)
Chief Executive
Property Council New Zealand

Nicole Rosie(external link)
Chief Executive
Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency

Rick Herd(external link)
Chief Executive Officer
Naylor Love

Janine Stewart(external link)
Partner - Construction
Minter Ellison Rudd Watts

Doug Johnson(external link)
Managing Director
Tonkin + Taylor

Steve Webster(external link)
Chief Infrastructure Officer

Susan Freeman-Greene(external link)
Chief Executive
Local Government New Zealand - Te Kāhui Kaunihera ō Aotearoa

Mike Craig(external link)
New Zealand Certified Builders - NZCB
Small business owner/director

Accord Transformation Delivery Group

The Transformation Delivery Group (TDG) is responsible for leading the design and delivery of the initiatives in the Construction Sector Transformation Plan. The Group brings together leaders with specific sector expertise in each workstream.

Dean Kimpton(external link)
Transformation Director

Transformation Delivery Group Chair


Chris Bunny(external link)
Deputy Secretary - MBIE

Leadership workstream co-lead

Duncan Kenderdine(external link)
Executive General Manager Strategy & Development – Downer NZ

Procurement and Risk workstream co-lead

Bill Newson
National Secretary - E tū

People Development workstream co-lead

Graham Burke(external link)
President - Specialist Trade Contractors Federation

People Development workstream co-lead

Roger McRae(external link)
Chair - Construction Health and Safety New Zealand

Health, Safety and Wellbeing workstream co-lead

Chelydra Percy(external link)
Chief Executive Officer – BRANZ

Environment workstream lead

David Kelly(external link)
Chief Executive - Master Builders

Business Performance workstream co-lead

Rick Herd(external link)
Chief Executive Officer - Naylor Love and member Vertical Construction Leaders Group

Business Performance workstream co-lead

John Hemi
Special Advisor at New Zealand Infrastructure Commission, Te Waihanga

Procurement & Risk workstream co-lead

John Sneyd(external link)
General Manager, Building System Performance – MBIE

Regulatory Environment workstream co-lead

Andy Cochrane(external link)
Beacons Director – MBIE

Beacon Projects workstream lead

Accord Forum

The Accord Forum provides a platform for genuine discussion and consultation with leaders across the wider sector on emerging sector issues, with membership changing as new issues are consulted on. The Forum was first convened to support the sector during and after the COVID-19 lockdown. There is a membership pool of up to 50 senior executives from across industry and government agencies.

In addition to ASG and TDG members, the Forum includes additional representatives from these organisations:

Auckland Council Hamilton Council
Icon Ministry of Education
Business Leaders' Health & Safety Forum RCP
Crown Infrastructure Partners Mike Greer Commercial
Engineering NZ ACENZ (Association of Consulting and Engineering NZ)
Aspec Construction Infrastructure NZ
Spanbild HEB Construction
Pipeline & Civil Ltd KiwiRail
Southbase Construction Ministry of Housing and Urban Development
NZ Strong Fulton Hogan
Taituara Warren and Mahoney
Kāinga Ora Ministry of Health
Roofing Association SiteSafe
Russell Group Aurecon
Project Unite Civil Contractors
Department of Internal Affairs

Accord agencies

Several government agencies that work with the sector as either regulators, clients and/or educators are partners in the programme and have specific responsibilities in the Accord and Transformation Plan.

 MBIE logo  Logo for Building and Urban Development  Logo for Transport agency
 Logo for Worksafe  Ministry of Education logo  
 Ministry of health logo    

Accord Network

The Accord Network is a collective of businesses, agencies and sector organisations that have made a commitment to high standards of behaviour and practice in support of the Accord goals.

The Network is open to organisations from all parts of the sector and gives the wider ecosystem the opportunity to connect with and participate in the Accord.

View the current Accord Network members.

Last updated: 09 April 2020